South Korea Grants K-ETA to 3 More Nationalities for August 2022

| Post by

South Korea has temporarily reopened K-ETA applications for nationals of 3 suspended countries during August 2022.

The South Korea Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA) allows eligible travelers to visit the country without a visa.

Citizens of Japan, Macau, and Taiwan may apply online for a South Korean ETA until the end of the month.

This decision has been taken to allow visitors from these countries to travel to South Korea for the Seoul Festa 2022. It is hoped that allowing visa-free travel with the K-ETA will attract more tourists to the event from abroad.

South Korea Grants K-ETA to 3 More Nationalities

Who Can Get the K-ETA for South Korea in August 2022?

A total of 107 different nationalities can get a South Korean K-ETA to visit the country visa-free during August 2022.

Before the COVID-19 pandemic, the K-ETA was planned to be available to nationals of the 112 countries and territories that qualified for visa exemption for South Korea.

However, the pandemic has meant that South Korea introduced a number of COVID-19 travel restrictions. These included suspension of visa waivers.

As the situation has improved and restrictions have eased, the K-ETA was gradually made available to citizens of 104 countries by the end of July 2022.

The latest announcement for the Seoul Festa means that from August 4 to August 31, 2022, 107 nationalities will be allowed to obtain a K-ETA to visit South Korea. The temporary additions are as follows:

  • Japan
  • Macau
  • Taiwan

How Does the Temporary K-ETA Work?

The K-ETA has been made available for travelers with passports issued by Japan, Macau, and Taiwan. However, this is a temporary situation for the Seoul Festa in August 2022.

The South Korean visa waiver will only be available to visitors from these regions for a limited period. Similarly, passengers will only be able to use their K-ETA to enter the country for this time.

In other respects, the K-ETA works in the same way as for other nationalities. Travelers simply apply online by completing the short application form and receive their visa waiver by email.

Visitors from Japan, Macau, and Taiwan must get their K-ETA at least 72 hours before their flight to South Korea departs.

How long will the 3 nationalities be eligible to apply for the K-ETA?

As of August 4, 2022, Japanese, Macau, and Taiwanese passport holders are able to apply online for the Korean visa waiver.

Nationals of these countries will once again become ineligible from September 1, 2022.

However, it is expected that in the near future, the K-ETA will be opened to these nationalities and more on a permanent basis.

How long will the temporary K-ETA be valid for entry to South Korea?

All K-ETAs obtained by travelers of these nationalities in August 2022 can be used to enter South Korea multiple times during the month of August.

However, the visa waivers will become invalid for entry from September 1.

When a Japanese, Macau, or Taiwanese citizen uses their K-ETA to enter South Korea in August, they are permitted to stay in the country for up to 90 days. If they leave the country after August, they will not be able to return using the K-ETA.

K-ETA for the Seoul Festa 2022

The Seoul Festa 2022 will take place August 10-14.

Events will take place in locations all over the South Korean capital. These will include K-Pop concerts, an EDM festival, an electric car grand prix, sports, culture-hopping, and a shopping experience.

The festival is a great celebration of the city of Seoul with experiences catering for visitors from abroad. One of the main aims of the festival is to boost tourism during August.

To this end, the South Korean government has made the decision to allow Japanese, Macau, and Taiwanese tourists to obtain a K-ETA online for visa-free travel throughout the month of August 2022.

Related News

  • Hong Kongers can now enjoy visa-free travel to South Korea with the K-ETA visa waiver once again. The Republic of Korea suspended its visa waiver program in April 2020. Hong Kong passport holders have been unable to enter the country without a visa for more than 2 years. From July 1, 2022, visa-free entry to

    Read More
  • The Republic of Korea has taken several steps in easing its entry restrictions for international travelers. Airports are now operating at pre-pandemic levels as the country aims to encourage tourism for summer 2022. As of June 8, 2022, unvaccinated individuals no longer have to quarantine on arrival. Before this, only fully vaccinated passengers could avoid

    Read More
  • After a 5-month preparation period, the South Korean government has confirmed that it will begin a trial of the K-ETA from May 3rd, 2021 before fully rolling out the Electronic Travel Authorization from September. The ETA for South Korea is being implemented for all South Korean visa-exempt nationalities in order to pre-screen visa waiver visitors

    Read More
  • The Ministry of Justice of South Korea has announced the upcoming launch of an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) for select foreign nationalities following a revision of the South Korean visa policy. On the 9th of January 2019, the South Korean National Assembly passed a revision of the Immigration Law that will permit the introduction of

    Read More