ETIAS Requirements for Colombians

The ETIAS visa waiver will be a mandatory requirement for Colombian travelers from November 2023. On this site you can find updated information about this new travel document for Europe.

ETIAS—the Electronic Travel Information and Authorization System— is a new travel document for the Schengen travel zone. From November 2023, Colombian passport holders must obtain an ETIAS for Colombians to enter all participating countries.

All Schengen member states will require a valid ETIAS from eligible travelers. This will also include nations who are currently in the process of joining the Schengen Area.

The main purpose of the ETIAS travel authorization is to reinforce immigration security across Schengen external borders. The entry permit will do this by screening passengers before they arrive, reducing problems such as illegal movement and terrorism attempts.

The ETIAS system will make visiting Europe safer for travelers, and help protect residents who are already in the Schengen Area.

You will be able to apply for an ETIAS for Colombian citizens easily using the online system. All you need to do is complete the application form with some basic details and the travel permit is then digitally signed to your passport.

Do Colombian Citizens Need a Visa for Europe?

The Schengen Area has a Visa Waiver Program which allows certain nationalities to enter without a visa. Colombian passport holders are part of this visa-free policy, giving them permission to travel to all Schengen countries and stay for up to 90 days without a visa.

If you’re a Colombian citizen planning to visit the Schengen Area, you will soon need an ETIAS visa waiver for Colombians to continue enjoying visa-free travel.

The ETIAS is not a visa—it is a visa waiver. The travel authorization will be an additional step to support the Schengen Visa Waiver Program and allow it to continue as normal.

The ETIAS for Colombian citizens is a multiple-entry travel permit which is valid for 3 years from the date of issue. This means that you can use the same ETIAS to visit multiple Schengen countries during the 3 years of validity.

Your trip to Europe must be for business, tourism, or transit purposes if you plan to enter with an ETIAS. You cannot use the travel authorization to work or study during your stay.

If you wish to visit the Schengen Area and stay for more than 90 days, or to work or study, you will need to apply for a visa instead of the ETIAS visa waiver. You must do this through an embassy or consulate of the first country you intend to visit.

What Countries Can Colombians Visit With an ETIAS?

The ETIAS visa waiver for Colombians gives the holder visa-free access to all Schengen Area countries.

Excluding Ireland, all European Union countries are in the Schengen zone. There are also some additional Schengen countries which are not part of the EU: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland, and 3 microstates: Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City.

Some nations are in the process of joining the borderless travel zone: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania. These countries will follow the ETIAS policy, even if they are still Schengen candidates and not official members when it is introduced.

The purpose of the Schengen Area is to allow freedom of movement within its borders. All contributing countries share the same external border, permitting travelers to move between these nations with the same entry permit.

Below you can find the list of the countries you can visit with an ETIAS for Colombian passport holders.

ETIAS Countries

How to Apply for ETIAS From Colombia

You can obtain an ETIAS visa waiver for Colombians by following these 3 simple steps:

1. Complete the online form

2. Pay the ETIAS processing fee

3. Receive your approved ETIAS by email

The ETIAS application is 100% online. You do not need to go to an embassy or consulate to request permission in person.

The general processing time for an ETIAS visa waiver is fast. Most applicants receive their approved travel authorization within 24 hours of applying.

Nonetheless, you are advised to complete your application at least 3 workings days before your trip, in case of delays or mistakes.

ETIAS application form for Colombian citizens

You only need to provide some basic personal information and details of your travel plans to complete the online ETIAS application for Colombian citizens. This includes:

  • Personal details: name, date of birth, nationality, place of birth
  • Passport data: passport number, issuing country, issue and expiry dates
  • Travel plans: first country to visit, date of arrival

You will also be asked some simple security questions, which are part of the general pre-screening process for all passengers.

ETIAS Visa Waiver Requirements for Citizens of Colombia

Before you begin the ETIAS application process, you must check that you meet the ETIAS requirements for Colombian citizens. You only need the following items to meet these criteria:

  • Colombian Passport: that meets the criteria mentioned below
  • Debit or credit card: to pay the ETIAS processing fee
  • Email address: to receive your approved ETIAS visa waiver

Travel to Europe From Colombia

One of the most visited Schengen countries by Colombian travelers is Spain. Visitors are attracted by the shared language, cultural diversity, gastronomy, and variety of leisure activities.

Other popular European destinations for Colombians include France, Germany, and Italy. Some of the most visited cities in these countries are:

  • France: Lyon, Marseille, Nice, Paris
  • Germany: Berlin, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Munich
  • Italy: Florence, Milan, Rome, Venice

You can use your ETIAS for Colombia citizens to visit all the destinations mentioned above, and all other Schengen Area nations.

The ETIAS is valid for multiple entry, meaning you can use the same travel authorization to visit multiple countries.

Latest ETIAS News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • The United Kingdom has now completed its Brexit transition period and has fully left the European Union (EU). This means that UK citizens will no longer EU privileges when traveling to European countries. Although UK Prime Minister and Boris Johnson and European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen finally managed to come to a deal

    Read More
  • Europe’s Schengen Area—a group of 26 countries that have been in an open-borders agreement for a quarter of a century—has marked its 25th anniversary with border checks reinstated and movement restricted due to the outbreak of coronavirus. The Schengen Area has closed its external borders to travelers from third countries. Only nationals and official residents

    Read More
  • Official sources from the European Commission have confirmed that the implementation of the ETIAS visa waiver to travel to Schengen Area countries has been delayed for a year until 2022. ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) is a pre-travel authorization system for visa-exempt citizens to travel to Schengen Countries. The Schengen Area consists of

    Read More