ETIAS Requirements for Israelis

Israeli passport holders will be required to register online for the upcoming ETIAS visa waiver to visit any European country in the Schengen Area. This will come into effect from November 2023.

Citizens of Israel will be required to get an online visa waiver to visit around 30 different European countries, starting November 2023.

Israeli passport holders will need to register online with the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) — an upcoming visa waiver system designed to improve border security while still allowing visa-free travel.

The ETIAS for citizens of Israel will be simple to obtain. Simply complete the short online form and you will receive confirmation of your travel authorization by email within a few business days at most.

There are just a few basic ETIAS requirements for Israeli citizens.

Apply for ETIAS from Israel

To get the ETIAS, Israeli citizens will be required to register their details in a quick online questionnaire.

The ETIAS application for Israeli citizens is designed to be quick and convenient. It allows travelers to authorize their trip to Europe rapidly from the comfort of their own homes. There is no need to go to a European embassy or consulate to deal with paperwork.

Israeli visitors must provide the following information on their ETIAS application form:

  • Basic personal information (name, date of birth, etc.)
  • Contact details (email address, phone number, etc.)
  • Passport information (document number, expiry date, etc.)
  • Travel plans (including the first Schengen country they plan to enter)

There will also be a few questions related to health and security.

Applicants from Israel and other visa waiver countries will have to pay a small processing fee as part of the ETIAS registration. This is done with a credit or debit card. Transactions are handled by secure servers to protect travelers’ data.

Countries That Israelis Can Visit With ETIAS

The ETIAS for Israeli citizens was created for the Schengen Area — an open-borders region of Europe made up of 26 countries, including France, Spain, Italy, and Switzerland. Schengen includes 22 European Union (EU) countries and all 4 European Free Trade Association (EFTA) members.

The ETIAS allows holders to visit all 26 Schengen member states.

It will also grant entry to 4 more EU countries that are in the process of joining Schengen (Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania), meaning that Israelis will need ETIAS to visit all EU countries apart from the Republic of Ireland.

The ETIAS visa waiver will also be required to visit 4 European microstates, since they can only be accessed via Schengen countries. These are Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican.

The total list of countries that can be visited with the ETIAS from Israel is as follows:

ETIAS Countries

Do Israeli Citizens Need a Visa to Visit Europe?

No, citizens of Israel enjoy visa exemption for almost all European countries, including those in the European Union (EU) and the Schengen Area.

Israelis may spend up to 90 days within any 180-day period in the Schengen Area without a visa if visiting for the following reasons:

  • Tourism
  • Business
  • Transit

This will not change in 2023 when the ETIAS is launched. Israelis will still be entitled to visa-free entry to Schengen countries and the associated nations mentioned above if they register online with the electronic visa waiver system.

The ETIAS for Israelis will cover multiple visa-free visits over a 3-year validity period. ETIAS holders will be able to travel to around 30 different European countries.

For stays longer than 90 days or to engage in activities such as work or study, Israeli nationals must apply for the relevant visa for the specific European country they plan to travel to.

ETIAS Requirements for Citizens of Israel

To register for the ETIAS visa waiver for Israelis, there are a few simple requirements to meet.

You must provide the following items to complete the ETIAS registration process:

  • Valid Israeli passport
  • Email address
  • Credit or debit card

The Israeli passport must meet certain requirements to register for ETIAS, including the following:

  • Valid for at least 3 months from arrival in the Schengen Area
  • Contain a biometric chip (e-Passport)

You must use the same Israeli passport used to register for ETIAS when traveling to Europe. This is because the ETIAS visa waiver is electronically linked to that specific passport. It cannot be transferred to another document.

When your passport is scanned, the ETIAS for Israeli nationals will be read.

If the registered passport expires or is lost, damaged, or stolen, you must re-register for ETIAS using your new Israeli passport.

How Long Can Israeli Citizens Stay in Europe?

Israelis traveling with the ETIAS can stay for up to 90 days within any period of 180 days in the Schengen Area.

This could be:

  • One long stay of 90 consecutive days
  • Several trips adding up to a total of 90 days

If you visit Europe from Israel frequently, you should keep track of how many days you have stayed in the Schengen Area within the past 6 months. You may not spend more than 90 days within any 6-month (180-day) period in the Schengen region.

The ETIAS is valid for 3 years. Nationals of Israel can use it for multiple trips to any and all Schengen-associated countries during this period, or until the registered passport expires.

Israeli Tourism in Europe

European countries are some of the top destinations for Israeli travelers each year. France and Greece regularly make the top 10 list of places visited by nationals of Israel. Both are part of Schengen and will require the ETIAS visa waiver to enter from 2023.

See the table below for statistics on the number of visitors from Israel to the Schengen Area in recent years.

  • Year

    Non-resident arrivals to Schengen Countries from Israel

  • 2015


  • 2016


  • 2017


  • 2018


  • 2019


Latest ETIAS News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • The United Kingdom has now completed its Brexit transition period and has fully left the European Union (EU). This means that UK citizens will no longer EU privileges when traveling to European countries. Although UK Prime Minister and Boris Johnson and European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen finally managed to come to a deal

    Read More
  • Europe’s Schengen Area—a group of 26 countries that have been in an open-borders agreement for a quarter of a century—has marked its 25th anniversary with border checks reinstated and movement restricted due to the outbreak of coronavirus. The Schengen Area has closed its external borders to travelers from third countries. Only nationals and official residents

    Read More
  • Official sources from the European Commission have confirmed that the implementation of the ETIAS visa waiver to travel to Schengen Area countries has been delayed for a year until 2022. ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) is a pre-travel authorization system for visa-exempt citizens to travel to Schengen Countries. The Schengen Area consists of

    Read More