ETIAS Requirements for Japanese Citizens

The ETIAS travel authorization for Europe will be mandatory for Japanese passport holders from November 2023. This site offers up-to-date information on this new electronic visa waiver.

ETIAS—the Electronic Travel Information and Authorization System—is a new European travel permit for citizens of visa-exempt countries. When it is introduced in November 2023, the ETIAS for Japanese travelers will be a mandatory requirement for anyone with a Japanese passport.

The ETIAS visa waiver will cover all Schengen Area countries, which is currently over 25 nations. The travel permit will also be required for Schengen candidate countries that are in the process of joining the borderless travel zone.

The new immigration system has been designed to improve border security and fight problems such as illegal immigration and terrorist attacks.

If you’re a Japanese passport holder you will soon be able to apply for the ETIAS visa waiver for Japanese citizens using a simple online form. The travel permit is then electronically linked to your passport, which is scanned and validated at the border.

Do Japanese Citizens Need a Visa to Visit Europe?

Japanese nationals can currently travel to Europe without a visa, as they are part of the EU’s Visa Waiver Policy.

Visa waiver travelers can enter the Schengen travel zone and stay for up to 90 days, within each 180-day period. The purpose of travel can be tourism, business, or transit.

To continue enjoying visa-free travel to the Schengen Area from November 2023, you will need to obtain an ETIAS for Japanese citizens. Without this mandatory travel authorization, visa waiver arrivals will no longer be permitted to enter the Schengen zone without a visa.

The ETIAS visa waiver for Japanese passport holders will be valid for 3 years from the date of issue, and it is a multiple entry permit. This means that you can use the same travel authorization to visit numerous Schengen countries within the 3 years of validity.

Note: the ETIAS visa waiver is not a visa. To travel to the Schengen Area for more than 90 consecutive days, or to work or study, you must obtain a Schengen visa.

Countries that Japanese Nationals Can Visit With ETIAS

The ETIAS for Japanese citizens will be valid for visa-free entry into all Schengen countries.

The borderless Schengen Area includes all European Union countries (minus Ireland), plus non-EU countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland) and 3 microstates (Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City).

The ETIAS visa waiver will also be required to access Schengen Area candidates, whose membership is currently pending: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania.

The Schengen agreement means that all member states have a single external border. Visitors from outside the travel zone simply need 1 travel authorization to visit all of these countries.

Below you can find the list of destinations which you can visit with an ETIAS visa waiver for Japanese nationals.

ETIAS Countries

Apply for an ETIAS for Citizens of Japan

The ETIAS application for Japanese citizens will be quick and straightforward to complete. The process is completely online, avoiding the need to go to an embassy or consulate to apply in person.

ETIAS processing time is very fast. Most applicants will receive their approved ETIAS visa waiver within 24 hours. However, Japanese citizens are advised to allow 72 hours, to avoid unexpected delays.

You can request an ETIAS for Japanese citizens by following 3 simple steps:

  1. Complete the online form
  2. Pay the ETIAS processing fee
  3. Receive the ETIAS by email

ETIAS application form for Japanese citizens

You only need to provide some basic information to complete the ETIAS application form. This includes:

  • Personal details: name, date of birth, nationality, place of birth
  • Passport data: passport number, issuing country, issue and expiry dates
  • Travel plans: first country to visit, date of arrival

The form also asks some simple security questions to help screen passengers before they arrive.

ETIAS Visa Waiver Requirements for Japanese Citizens

You will only need a few basic items to meet the ETIAS requirements for Japanese citizens. All applicants must have:

  • Japanese Passport: must meet the requirements outlined below
  • Debit or credit card: to pay the ETIAS fee
  • Email address: to receive your approved ETIAS

Travel to Europe From Japan

Europe is a popular destination for Japanese tourists. Some of the most visited places include:

  • France: Lyon, Marseille, Nice, Paris
  • Germany: Berlin, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Munich
  • Italy: Rome, Venice, Milan, Sicily
  • Spain: Barcelona, Madrid, Granada, Seville

The ETIAS visa waiver for Japanese travelers will be valid for use in all Schengen countries, included those listed above.

The travel authorization is a multiple-entry permit. You can visit numerous European countries using the same ETIAS visa waiver.

Japan Tourism in Europe

Japanese citizens enjoy visa-free entry into the Schengen zone, allowing them to travel around Europe easily. The ETIAS for Japanese nationals will allow them to continue traveling around the Schengen Area without a visa.

Large numbers of Japanese tourists have continued to visit Europe throughout the years, maintaining it as one of the most popular destinations for Japanese passport holders.

In 2019, the number of Japanese arrivals in Europe jumped to 3,830,939—higher than the 4 years preceding it.

These numbers have understandably dropped since the COVID-19 pandemic, however figures are slowly increasing now that travel is more accessible.

  • Year

    Non-residents arrivals to the Schengen Area from Japan

  • 2015


  • 2016


  • 2017


  • 2018


  • 2019


Latest ETIAS News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • The United Kingdom has now completed its Brexit transition period and has fully left the European Union (EU). This means that UK citizens will no longer EU privileges when traveling to European countries. Although UK Prime Minister and Boris Johnson and European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen finally managed to come to a deal

    Read More
  • Europe’s Schengen Area—a group of 26 countries that have been in an open-borders agreement for a quarter of a century—has marked its 25th anniversary with border checks reinstated and movement restricted due to the outbreak of coronavirus. The Schengen Area has closed its external borders to travelers from third countries. Only nationals and official residents

    Read More
  • Official sources from the European Commission have confirmed that the implementation of the ETIAS visa waiver to travel to Schengen Area countries has been delayed for a year until 2022. ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) is a pre-travel authorization system for visa-exempt citizens to travel to Schengen Countries. The Schengen Area consists of

    Read More