European Commission Confirms ETIAS Delayed Until 2022

| Post by

Official sources from the European Commission have confirmed that the implementation of the ETIAS visa waiver to travel to Schengen Area countries has been delayed for a year until 2022.

ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) is a pre-travel authorization system for visa-exempt citizens to travel to Schengen Countries. The Schengen Area consists of 22 European Union countries and 4 non-EU members who share a common visa policy.

Once available, eligible citizens will be able to apply for ETIAS authorization through a simple online application form, to receive an approved travel authorization electronically linked to their passport.

All of the information applicants provide on the form will be screened against several European security databases managed by eu-LISA, including Interpol, Europol, SIS, and VIS, before an ETIAS can be approved.

Tourists on Main Market Square in Krakow, Poland

When Will ETIAS Become Fully Operational?

Approved in 2016 by the European Parliament, ETIAS was established to pre-screen visa-free travelers to the Schengen Area for any potential security risks, in order to strengthen European borders.

It was originally expected to take around 5 years for the system to be functional, and it was expected that visa-free citizens would have to apply for an ETIAS authorization to travel to Europe by the end of 2021.

However, it has been confirmed that the system will not be fully implemented until the end of 2022, and that it will not be mandatory for visa-exempt citizens to obtain an ETIAS travel authorization until up to a year afterward.

When the ETIAS Visa Waiver Will Become Mandatory

A EU Commission spokesperson has confirmed that the date that ETIAS will come into effect and the date it becomes mandatory for visa-free travelers will be two different dates.

The official stated that “For a period of six months from the date on which ETIAS starts operations, the use of ETIAS will be optional and the requirement to be in possession of a valid travel authorization will not apply.”

However, during this period, it will be obligatory for Schengen member states to inform visa-exempt travelers crossing Schengen external borders that they must have an approved ETIAS travel authorization after the initial 6-month period.

A leaflet informing travelers of this requirement is set to be distributed to all visa-exempt citizens crossing Schengen borders during the initial grace period, as well as made available at all Schengen country embassies and consulates in territories whose citizens will need to obtain ETIAS.

It was also suggested that this grace period could be extended for another 6 months period maximum in order to allow travelers and border officials alike to adapt to the new ETIAS requirement.

During the second 6-month period, it will be a mandatory requirement to have a valid travel authorization. However, visa-free citizens who arrive at the border without an approved ETIAS will be allowed to cross the external Schengen border in order to fulfill this requirement, providing that they are crossing the border for the first time since the second 6-month period began.

ETIAS is expected to become fully mandatory in 2023 for visa-exempt travelers to the Schengen Area.

Related News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • The United Kingdom has now completed its Brexit transition period and has fully left the European Union (EU). This means that UK citizens will no longer EU privileges when traveling to European countries. Although UK Prime Minister and Boris Johnson and European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen finally managed to come to a deal

    Read More
  • Europe’s Schengen Area—a group of 26 countries that have been in an open-borders agreement for a quarter of a century—has marked its 25th anniversary with border checks reinstated and movement restricted due to the outbreak of coronavirus. The Schengen Area has closed its external borders to travelers from third countries. Only nationals and official residents

    Read More
  • Four of Europe’s microstates will not be on the list of countries whose citizens have to register with the Schengen Area’s new ETIAS travel authorization system to visit the majority of European countries. Nationals of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City currently enjoy freedom of movement around the Schengen Area—an open border region of

    Read More